For those like me who are engaged in their own job search in this sluggish economy, you know that the days when hiring managers, recruiters, and headhunters begged you to come work for them are long since past, even in Silicon Valley. Today's job search is all about networking. I can't stress how important it is that you maintain a good and complete Linked-in page. But beyond maintaining a large list of connections and a complete profile, its important that you get face time with people. Whether its over lunch, at a party, or and informational interview, making time for that human connection is paramount in addition to a good web presence. Now like most people I don't do well in a crowd of strangers as I tend to just observe people and listen to their conversations rather than interact with them. It's a huge mistake, and its time to change habit!

So how do you get around this?

Well I just finished an excellent book I'd like to recommend to you. I know, I know.. yet another self-help book. True. But this one is a light read, a whopping 78 pages. In fact, Mr. "I can read a paperback in a month, let alone a week" (yours truly) was able to read this in one short evening session.

The book is called:

                                 "I'm at a networking event, Now what???"
                                           By Sandy Jones-Kaminski
                                             ISBN 978-1-60005-166-1

It's published by HappyAbout.Info  You can purchase the book directly from them. Also check out some of their other offerings. If your a novice to Linked-In their book "I'm on Linked-in, Now what?/?" also is a good read I am told.

The book offers many helpful tips. It describes what networking is, how to prepare for one, where to find them, what you should do once your there, what not to do at one, what you should do after, when you should stop networking (never really), effective networking, and even how to host your own networking events plus loads of other handy resources.  Check it out, its a good (quick) read



Leave a Reply.